Massachusetts has adopted a tough stance against carrying dangerous weapons. In fact, Massachusetts lawmakers have taken the unique position of specifying every kind of weapon that is banned throughout the Commonwealth. Section 10(6)(b) of the Massachusetts General Laws reads more like a list of props in a Hollywood action movie than items that residents are banned from carrying.
The list is full of switchblades, kung-fu sticks, metal knuckles, lengths of chain, blowguns, blackjacks, and even ninja throwing stars (shuriken). The law is so specific at times, it seems absurd. For example, the restrictions against carrying a knife of any kind is restricted to a blade length of just one and a half inches.
Even exotic items such as nunchucks, zoobow, manrikigusari, and klackers are prohibited by the statute. It is also against the law for any citizen to carry an armband made with leather that has metallic spikes.
The point of all this is to show you that our state is extremely serious about reducing the carrying of dangerous weapons. If you have been charged with this crime, there are a few things you should know. If convicted of carrying a dangerous weapon, you could face imprisonment of not less than six months and not more than 2.5 years in jail. However, a court is permitted to review your criminal record and may choose to punish you with a fine of not more than $50 or sentence you to a stretch in jail that cannot exceed 2.5 years.
Your Massachusetts criminal defense attorney can assist you in evaluating the strength of the prosecution's case against you. Depending on the circumstances of your case, it may be possible to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Source: General Law of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, "Section 10 Carrying dangerous weapons;" accessed Jan. 25, 2015