Attleboro Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
Ready to Defend You Against Serious Criminal Allegations
While spouses, couples, and family members love one another, disagreements still happen. However, when an argument turns into a physical altercation and the police are involved, the incident can result in serious criminal charges. Although it is not uncommon for all parties to experience instant regret – and even cause the alleged victim to request that the charges be dropped – only state prosecutors have the authority whether to dismiss the charges or proceed with the case. That is why it is imperative to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to get the best possible outcome.
If you or a loved one has recently been arrested for domestic violence in the greater Boston area, look no further than our Attleboro domestic violence lawyer at Brian D. Roman, Attorney at Law. Attorney Roman is a former prosecutor with more than two decades of experience. He understands how the prosecution will approach your case and develop an aggressive and personalized defense strategy to help you avoid harsh criminal penalties and get your life back on track.
Massachusetts Domestic Violence Laws & Penalties
According to Massachusetts’ law, domestic violence is defined as any physical harm, attempt to cause physical harm, threats of imminent danger, or nonconsensual sexual acts between family and household members. Family and household members include current and former spouses and romantic partners, relatives by blood or marriage, or even current or former roommates.
State police officers are required to make an arrest if there is probable cause that someone committed either a misdemeanor related to domestic abuse, any felony, or assault and battery. Additionally, if a person violated a protective order (or restraining order), law enforcement officials must make an arrest.
Assault and assault and battery related to domestic violence carries a maximum jail term two-and-a-half years and a fine no more than $1,000. However, assault and battery by someone under a protective order is punishable by a prison term of up to five years and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Violating a protective order can also result in a maximum jail term two-and-a-half years and a fine no more than $1,000. Stalking carries a prison term of up to five years and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Our Attleboro domestic violence attorney can listen to you story, review the facts and circumstances of your case, and help you either get your charge/sentence reduced or your entire case dismissed. We are ready to protect your rights and freedom throughout this difficult and trying time.
Call (508) 576-5922 for more information about our legal services.